Reviews from our guests

Reviews left by our visitors since the creation of Lauzanac.

We have decided to share some of the reviews left on our visitor guestbooks or on different webstes since the creation of the cottages. 1994 for the Cottage Le Pigeonnier and 2000 for the Cottage Les Chênes. 

 

Août 2015 – Les Chênes

My wife and I rented the farmhouse cottage Les Chênes at Lauzanac for two weeks from late July into early August. During our visit, we also had numerous friends and family stopping by to stay with us. First off, the area is absolutely beautiful. Eymet is a great little Bastide village with lots happening. For a small village, it seems like something is always happening. The nocturnal market is the highlight and happens every Tuesday. What is really special is the fact that there are numerous small villages within a 30 min drive that are wonderful places to visit. There is a market everyday of the week somewhere near Lauzanac.

As for Les Chênes at Lauzanac, we could not have been more happy with our choice. Isabelle and Thierry are wonderful people and they go out of their way to ensure that you have a perfect vacation. From offering recommendations on where to visit, to taking our friends children on a tractor ride, to having us over for aperitifs, and for letting the kids (and adults) play with the animals, they are the perfect hosts. The house has three bedrooms upstairs all with their own bathroom, a tv room with English and French channels, a well equipped kitchen, large dining table, and a comfortable living room. I must say, other than sleeping and cooking we spent very little time inside the house. We had every meal outside at the covered picnic table and that is where we always gathered to discuss the days events.

If we were not at the table, we were at the pool. The pool was perfect as it was very hot during our stay. All of us, adults and kids had a blast there.

Lauzanac is a working farm which adds to the fun of the vacation. We started everyday by walking down the driveway and were always greeted by all the animals. Choupinette, Isabelle and Thierry’s dog, was a true joy to be around. She joined us for almost every meal and came along for our walks. She added to the enjoyment of the place.

The nearby lake was a real plus for us as we are avid walkers. The trail around the lake is 7 KM which we did everyday.

All in all Les Chênes at Lauzanac is the perfect vacation rental. Great house, great community, and great hosts. We cannot recommend this rental more. We hope to return next year and for more than two weeks.

Mike and Virginie from Alaska (USA)

June 2015 – Les Chênes

“Perfect”! All I can say is this place is amazing, We are a family of four with two young girls and stayed a week at the end of June as part of a larger 3 weeks vacation and it was our favorite accommodation of the whole trip. There are two separate cottages and we stayed in the Les Chênes house which was huge for the four of us. The house was very charming, clean, and had all the amenities we needed (as we prepared many meals at the house). We greatly enjoyed eating most of meals outdoors on the patio. What makes this place truly wonderful for the kids are the animals. Our girls sat for hours with choppentte (Choupinette the dog), the rabbits, sheep, pig, goats, goose, horses, donkeys, sheep, and cat. As an added bonus the girls were very excited in helping clean up after meals so that they could collect all the food scraps to feed the animals. On top of this there are two available swing sets and a pool, plenty to offer entertainment while the adults got to relax and take in the peace and quiet. There was another family staying in their second unit and never did this intrude on our own sense of privacy.

The location is excellent for exploring the Dordogne region. I was a little worried that it was a bit far from major attractions in the area, but we did not find this to be the case, exploring the Dordogne river, Sarlat-la-Canéda, Bergerac, and many small towns and markets around the area. Eymet is a nice little village, and they are some nice restaurants in the area.

Isabelle and Thierry were great hosts and made us feel very welcome and relaxed while giving us all the privacy we wanted. They provided excellent recommendations on things to do, wines, restaurants, and markets; were available if we had questions or needed something; and regularly checked in to make sure our stay was going well. The reservation process and payment were very easy and Isabelle was very responsive to queries and requests throughout the booking process. It is clear from our time with them that they truly love sharing their home and farm with others. We hope that our journeys will take us back to their farm again in the not so distant future.

Todd and family from Saudi Arabia

Juin 2015 – Les Chênes

After 2 wonderful weeks of peaceful rest and enjoyment in these lovely surroundings, we have to say goodbye. Thank you to Isabelle and Thierry for being such wonderful host, always helpful and making us feel so welcome. We have loved feeding the animals and our walks with Choupinette. We hope to return again soon. In the meantime, we will recommending Gîte des Chênes to our family and friends. With thanks. Mary and Brian, English from Yorkshire (UK).

Thank you Isabelle and Thierry for all your help and kindness, which made our holiday stress free and really enjoyable. We have had a lovely holiday and think you are very lucky to live in such a wonderful place. The gite is in a great spot with everything close by and enough room for families. Brian and Mick will miss feeding the animals. Merci. Margaret and Mick Murphy from Yorkshire.

Mars 2015 – Le Pigeonnier

Had a very enjoyable 5 weeks. Lovely house, beautiful surroundings. Sad to leave! Many thanks. Mark and Anne from Cornwall.

Top of the page

July 2014 – Le Pigeonnier

Absolutely fantastic. Thank you for an unforgetable holiday. Lyn, Dave, Gemma, Lee, Finlay and Adam from England.

Really lovely gite. Loved the pool and all the facilities on offer (ping pong table). Also all the equipment in the kitchen was extremely useful. Surrounding area is beautiful. The countryside views are to die for! Also enjoyed looking round the local villages and going to the markets. The animals have all been lovely to be around especially Choupinette. Couldn’t have asked for nicer hosts. Thanks for the drinks and all the hospitality. Overall a very enjoyable trip. Would love to come here again. Thank you. Faye, Liam, Nic and Ross from the UK.

We had an absolutely fantastic time at Lauzanac. The house was lovely and very well equipped. We did not want for anything during our stay. The location was perfect just a few minute’s drive outside Eymet.

July 2014 – Les Chênes

We have two little boys and they loved the animals on the farm, feeding them and petting them. The swing in the garden was also a huge winner with our two little boys. Isabelle and Thierry were fantastic, very friendly and very helpful. I would happily recommend a stay at Lauzanac and more than happy to go back there again. Lee, Sandra and the kids from Cumbria (UK).

June 2014 – Le Pigeonnier

A great place for our family to meet up! Thank you for a wonderful place to have holiday. Beautiful accomodation and the peace and quiet were just what we needed. Loved having Choupinette keeping us company, stopped us missing our 3 dogs too much!! Isabelle and Thierry, you are lovely hosts and made us feel really welcome. Thank you. Clive and Sally from England.

This place was recommended to us by a friend that had stayed in the other cottage some years back. On the basis of that recommendation we booked Le Pigeonnier, which has recently been refurbished.This was an ideal place for three part of my family to meet up. I flew in from Australia, my parents flew over from England and my sister and her family flew in from Scotland! Quite simply this place was all we expected it to be and more! The quality and value for money were excellent, there was plenty of space for all guests (useful given we had Grandparents, ‘Children’ and teenage Grandchildren.The pool was a sure fire hit coupled with the perfect weather for the week meant they stayed in there until late into the evening. The hosts were perfect, friendly, accommodating, without being in any way instrusive. The farm was fabulous and all ages enjoyed feeding the horses, mules, pigs, sheep, rabbits, and of course the star hit, Chopinette the dog! Thanks to Isabelle and Thierry for making an excellent week possible. Roy from Melbourne.

May 2014 – Les Chênes

We had simply the BEST holiday here at Lauzanac. We stayed for almost two months and we felt at home from the moment we arrived and were welcomed by Isabelle and Thierry. Ideally situated just outside Eymet, the gite comprises three queen sized bedrooms all of which have generous ensuite bathrooms. A renovated barn, the gite still managed to look traditional but afford all modern conveniences. The kitchen was really well equipped and I loved sitting by the wood fire of a chilly evening with a glass of local red. (Try Domaine D’Eybro – it’s really good!). When the weather brightened up, we were able to take advantage of our own private swimming pool or play table tennis. Oh and the big kid in me fell in love with all the animals; the goats, the sheep, the donkeys, horses and cows. Not forgetting all the bunny rabbits! And since it was spring there were plenty of baby animals to cuddle. I would go back in a heartbeat! Angie and Dave from Australia.

Top of the page

August 2013 – Les Chênes

Very welcoming atmosphere establishes by the owners.

Nice and private area for hanging out and having barbecues.

Our Kid was constantly scrolling around to look for the animals or was very happy to go swimming in a nice and save pool.

The surrouding offers a lot of opportunities for nice excursions.

Two thumbs up. Joëlle and Co from Karlsruhe (Allemagne)

July 2013 – Le Pigeonnier

Shannon said she loved the donkeys very much and that they loved her. She also loved all the other animals. We enjoyed our stay very much and thought the gite and its environment were beautiful. No doubt, we will see you again very soon. Alice, Franck, Jenette, Kath, Shannon, Michael and Ava from Ireland and now from Eymet.

April 2013 – Les Chênes

We loved the animals,especially the donkeys and the adorable farm dog! The patio and it”s rural view were the perfect place to relax and when it got cold in the evening, we closed the shutters and lit the log burning stove. It was too cold to use the swimming pool, but it was clearly well maintained and I would have been tempted, even in april, if the weather had been a bit warmer! The kitchen was exceptionally well equipped. The accomodation was very comfortable, with plenty of towels and bedding. The heating worked well and the house was warm. As my parents are elderly, the only slight difficulty was the spiral staircase up to the main bedroom. On the other hand, it was very convenient to have a bathroom right next to the bedroom. Wonderful bastide towns/markets/resaurants to visit within easy driving distance. Lots of tourist info available in the house. We would particularly recommend the Etappe Gasconne restauant at allemans du Dropt. Don”t miss the frescoes in the nearby church if you go there! Duras castle is also well woth a visit. There.s also a good walk from the house up to and around a reservoir. It was helpful and reassuring to have the owners living on the farm. They were very welcoming and friendly. Ideal for children, with stair gates, fenced off garden and pool. I would recommend it to anyone and we”d definitely go back! Janet and Steve from the UK.

March 2013 – Le Pigeonnier

A wonderful peaceful holiday as usual. Very nice to see the animals especially Peter the donkey 😉 Hope to cater up with you in September. Christine and Peter from Wales.

GO BACK TO THE HOME PAGE

September 2012 – Le Pigeonnier

Very nice, loved the animals. Would love to come back again. Thank you very much for your hospitality. From Carla, Lameze, Michelle, Graham, David, Kyra and Eli from the UK.

March 2012 – Les Chênes

We really liked our stay. The house was very comfortable and the service was very-very good. Isabelle was very kind with us and always was ready to help us. We enjoyed the visits to different places of the region. Eymet is a really charming village.

Children liked the animals in the farm and they also liked all the visits we made (to Castlenaud, Roque Gageac …). Jeff and Lara from Vancouver

September 2011 – Les Chênes

We had the pleasure of staying at Lauzanac in Les Chenes for 3 1/2 months. Isabelle and Thierry have thought of just about everything you could need for a holiday, the home is very well equipped and comfortable. The kitchen is generously equipped. The lovely stone walls means that in the summer there is no need for air conditioning (we arrived in glorious weather when it was in the 30C in September and as the cooler weather started the home was lovely and warm with central heating and plenty of timber available for cosy log fires. I was a little apprehensive that Les Chenes would be as nice as shown on the website, but must say that it was even better! The animals – goats, sheep, a pig, donkeys and horses (pets) are friendly and add to a wonderful atmosphere. The position of Lauzanac is perfect for exploring the bastides, the magnificent wine regions of Bergerac to Bordeaux, the towns, cities, Chateaux of Perigord, Lot-et-Garonne and the midi-Pyrenees. We had a very happy time there and were very sad to leave. Isabelle and Thierry are marvellous hosts. Elizabeth and Ken from Adelaïde (Australia).

June 2011 – Les Chênes

The house is perfect,clean,excellent for children, lovely pool, a well equiped kitchen, including a dishwasher and washing machine. Ensuite bathroom to all 3 bedrooms. The hosts are eager to help and to chat about anything. Lovely area and great for relaxing. Henk and Leny from Belgium.

GO BACK TO THE HOME PAGE

June 2010 – Le Pigeonnier

This is a very spacious gite with its own private garden and pool. It’s on a working farm with friendly animals nearby in beautiful countryside near the Dropt river. It has all the facilities you would expect and we had a lovely time there. Ann, Peter and kids from the England.

Very comfortable farmhouse in nice rural area with good facilities for a family holiday. Isabelle and Thierry Jansen werevery helpful and accomodating.The nearby village of Eymet is very attractive with a good choice of bars and cafes. Roads in surrounding area good for cycling. Mark, Lisbeth, John and Ruth from Scotland.

May 2010 – Les Chênes

We spent a very pleasant stay, quiet, on a green field and a few minutes drive from down town. The benefits are quality: clean, pleasant rooms and warm hospitality of the owners. Do not hesitate! Phil and Debbie from Vincennes.

April 2010 – Les Chênes

If you have children who love animals,swimming,table tennis,the outdoors,huge bedrooms and owners who take the time to talk and more importantly, listen to them…this is the place for you! We cannot rate this property more highly. Our previous plans were cancelled due to the volcano erupting, so this was a very last minute find. It could not have turned out any better…thanks to you Isabelle. Betty and Terry from Paris.

January 2010 – Les Chênes and Le Pigeonnier

After an exhaustive 2-3 months’ online search for the perfect french farmhouse to rent for 3+ months in the off season, we came upon Lauzanac farm. We began corresponding with Isabelle immediately and before we knew it, she was assisting us with not one, but two schools for us to choose from for our 13-year old daughter. That was just the beginning of one of many ways in which she assisted us during our entire stay. Of course, the gites were immaculate and nicely furnished (we know, for we stayed part time in both Les Chenes and Le Pigeonnaire). The location is perfect; just a few kilometres from both Eymet and La Sauvetat de Dropt for the quaint village experience and just a half hour from Bergerac and an hour from Bordeaux when you miss the city. The countryside in this part of the Dordorgne is pristine and their large farm is expansive. The cute farm animals are fun and a great way to get rid of your leftovers!. I developed quite a crush on Elsa the pig. My daughter tried to tame Tequila, the white mare.

All in all, the accommodations were wonderful, but most important, both Isabelle and her husband, Thierry, made us feel welcome and were always there to answer questions and help us through any of the french mysteries we encountered. Another plus, Isabelle speaks perfect English. Cindy, Hank and Caleigh from California (USA) and now St Jean de Duras.

GO BACK TO THE HOME PAGE

August 2009 – Le Pigeonnier

We have had a lovely 2 weeks. The relaxation and quiet has been a tonic for all of us. Sean loves the donkeys but his favourite is your pot bellied pig! Soquette has kept an eye on us and seems to be making a rapid recovery (especially in the second week). Thank you so much for making us so welcome. All the best. Ruth, Barry, Debbie and Sean from the UK.

September 2008 – Le Pigeonnier

Enjoyed our stay at your lovely house. It’s been a restful, tranquil holiday just what we needed. The animals have been good company and we will miss their conversations with us!!! A bientôt. Christine and Peter from Wales.

May 2008 – Le Pigeonnier

It has been a relaxing and peaceful holiday. Although the weather has been “mixed”, it has not stopped us looking for our retirement home here in France. The house is lovely and it has been a pleasure to stay here. Thank you. Nigel and Lesley, England and now Monflanquin.

August/September 2006 – Le Pigeonnier

We have had a lovely holiday. Quiet, relaxing, dogs loved it as well. This place will be special to us for many reasons and we will be back next year. Loved all the animals and thank you to our hosts for making us so welcome. See you soon and keep in touch. Lots of love. Dave and Michelle from Spain.

July/August 2005 – Le Pigeonnier

We arrived on a Tuesday evening and have therefore only stayed 4 days, as guests of Gordon and Lyndall. We have had a marvellous time enjoying the local market in Eymet, local restaurants and domaine. I hope we can come back another year. Thank you for a lovely holiday. Jeremy and Fiona from the UK.

Thank you very much for a wonderful week. We couldn’t have asked for more, great food, wine and good company. Our friends have looked after every needs and we are sure that through their introduction to Le Pigeonnier, we will be returning. Alex and David from the UK.

Great 3 weeks with lots of family and friends staying. The children loved the animals and the restaurants “Ma Maison” or “Tic Tac” or “La Petite Auberge” are excellent. This is a good bicycling country. An excellent holiday. Gordon and Lynda from the UK.

September 2004 – Le Pigeonnier

Thank you so much for providing such a wonderful gite for our family. We all loved it here: the peace of the countryside (in contrast to London), the beautiful rolling hills, the wonderful food and the really lovely small towns – especially Monflanquin, Pujols, La Réole, Duras and above all, Eymet. Thank you also for your hospitality. We very much enjoyed talking to you and learning a little about the region. We hope to see you again sometime, and look forward to seeing you on television in January 2005! Loulou, Bradley, Deborah, Michael and Solomon from London.

August 2004 – Le Pigeonnier

Thank you very much for letting us use your lovely farmhouse. Christopher and myself truly enjoyed the stay in France. Lovely food, nature, the swimming-pool, animals… and the beautiful French language. We would like to come back and see you again. Christopher and Gink from the UK.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *